With the advent of new technologies and sciences, life expectancy has increased over the years. Some people suppose that extending lifetime to many more due to progress in science seems to be favorable event while others argue this would be a contributing which will have a negative impact on economics communities.

On the one hand, long healthy life will provide people with a plethora of opportunities to materialize the deepest thoughts and dreams that lie in their minds. That is to say, longer life without any chronic diseases would be a blessing for who wants to live life to the full and spend much more time with their loved ones. Take ones who are a lifelong fan of traveling and visiting new places as an example; thanks to the long healthy life which will be resulted of the scientific advancement, they will have many opportunities to experience new things. Furthermore, another justification is that the extension of human’s life will have a positive effect on industries’ productivity, as the elderly in workplaces with precious knowledge can share their experiences and skills with the younger workforces.

On the other hand, the opposing view asserts that the extension of human’s life leads to the aging of societies which will have a destructive effect on the economy. The most compelling reason for their assertion is that increased life expectancy will put an extra financial burden on governments, as they would have to invest more budget in healthcare to take care of the senior citizens. By increasing the number of people with more than 100 years of age in the future, for instance, more nurse houses and health centers will be needed. Apart from that, the long life span will eventually cause overpopulation in societies which might result in the dearth of resources and energy. Thus, some countries might encounter an energy crisis in the future.

To sum up, there are well-grounded arguments on both sides of the controversy on balance; however, it is my firm persuasion that drawbacks of the long life span far outweigh its benefits.