Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Scientific research has gained widespread importance due to its ability to find solutions for various troubles of mankind. As such, research in various fields are being pursued by governments, individuals and private organisations. It is not advisable to restrict the liberal expansion of research programs and limit the scope of scientific research as government projects. This essay states that the government should not curtail the freedom of other agencies as many beneficial research works are being carried out by these private organisations.

First of all, governments have to focus on a variety of issues other than scientific research such as providing basic amenities and protection to its citizenry. This may deter the government from spending extravagantly in the scientific field, leading to a stagnant growth of science which may subsequently effect the progress in different fields including agriculture, transportation and entertainment. For example, Bt brinjal, a seed variety of brinjal with better pest resistance capacity was produced by a private Indian company, which helped many farmers in India to increase their yield.

Moreover, private companies and individuals have huge financial backing and utilize their own funding. This gives them supreme freedom to carry out necessary research programmes unhindered. Additionally, many independent scientists have used their valuable time to partake in research activities leading to explosive discoveries. A few of such noteworthy scientists include Thomas Alva Edison, who found electric bulb and Marie Curie, who contributed towards radioactivity.

In conclusion, research experiments should be carried out by private and public agencies in order to to produce fruitful results which may help the development of the nation. Monopolisation of scientific research by public establishments may only serve to dwindle the spirit of innovation because of a paucity of extensive scientific research. Thus, everyone should have the liberty to engage in productive and positive research activities for the betterment of the society.