Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be teachers?

It is known that teaching is a noble profession and a teacher facilitates the overall development of a child. As such teaching profession requires extreme patience, empathy and understanding. Most of the youngsters these days are less tolerant and patient enough to handle children. This has led to a decline in people choosing teaching as a career.

To begin with, teaching is a very sophisticated job and it needs immense effort from the teacher along with careful planning. It can even be called an art that requires specific set of skills. For example, helping children to set goals, guiding children to work towards attaining these ascertained goals and developing their character requires the teachers to exert heavily to achieve these desired ends. It is not a fleeting task at all. They have to rely heavily on their experience and their knowledge coupled with social skills such as good interaction, positive mindedness and friendliness.

Moreover, students look up to their teachers as role models and they expect them to behave in a professional and ethical manner, more than in any other professions. They have to live up to the expectations of the society to a certain extent in these regards. Their code of conduct ought to be more appropriate and morally pleasing as the society perceives them to be. Moreover, they play a supreme role in all spheres of developmental process of a child. For example, schools have got talent fests, sports and art competitions and science fests to enhance the inherent talent of the young people. Today's youth are not willing to undertake these responsibilities and this deters them from choosing the occupation.

To recapitulate, teaching involves careful planning and implementation of these formulated plans and it demands patience and tolerance, as carelessness may cause more harm, since each child is different. These qualities are vanishing in youths and they are more inclined towards other opportunities.