Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that states should be responsible for conducting scientific research instead of private companies. I disagree with this idea because of the following reasons.

There is no doubt that scientific research carried out by the governments has some benefits. First of all, the governments will make sure that the research will be conducted by qualified scientists. In fact, the famous professors at universities often take responsibility for doing important research. As a result, the research is often successful. Furthermore, the states do research for the sake of their citizens. The aim of the research is improve people's standard of living. For instance, there is a lot of research aiming at finding solutions to environmental problem or improving healthcare, which may bring about better life for people.

On the other hand, I would argue that scientific research should be funded by private enteurprises. To begin with, companies help the governments ease their budgets. Doing a research, obviously, costs a lot of money. Therefore, when private organizations get involved in doing these activites, the gorvenments may save a certain amount of money which can be used to upgrade the transport systems or build more schools, hospitals. Moreover, companies have motivation to do research quickly and effectively. The longer it takes companies to conduct research, the less profit they may gain. Thus, they will try their best to accomplish the reaserch.

In conlusion, although that the states carry out scientific research has some advatages, I believe that it is more beneficial when private companies take responsibility for doing these activities.