Scientists predict that in future cars will be driven by computers. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Future transportation will be computer driven as forecasted by technologists and scientists. This essay will elucidate the possible reasons behind the theory and also present factors for my viewpoint inclination toward optimism.

First of all, rate of technological advancement could be linked with this supposition. As with the current development in the field of robotics and artificial intelligence, one could easily imagine the above mentioned theory turning into reality. For instance, Tech-giants in field of motors such as Mercedes and Tesla have already engineered and manufactured self-driven cars which can sense traffic and predict best possible routes to destination. Secondly, driving might seem to be waste of time in future, as human are thriving toward utilizing time efficiently. A report by the U.S Department of Mass Transportation states that an average person consume one hour on driving on daily basis for the routine work; meaning that thirty two million man-hours are wasted daily on driving only in USA. This time could be utilized by the introduction of computer operated cars providing need for manufacturing.

In my view point this development is completely positive because of the reason of safety. As drunk driving, inability to understand traffic, traffic signals and laws would remain no issue and everyone will be able to reach the destination safely. For a better understanding, yearly half million people are reported to be died from road accidents globally.

In conclusion, engineering discoveries in this field and future time importance could be considered as possible factors accompanying scientists thinking on this matter while I consider it as beneficial considering safety.