Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them Education and job training are better ways to help them Do you agree or disagree

Some people claim that the government should offer criminals education and job training instead of putting them to prison. While it is true that education and job training are the efficient methods, I believe imprisoning them is the best way.

To begin with, there are some reasons why we should give education and job training to offenders. Firstly, by providing criminals vocational skills can help them become useful citizens, which positively reduces financial burden for their country. In fact, there are a significant amount of the government’s budget spent on imprisonment. If the authorities send offenders into prison, they cannot work to make profits for the state. Furthermore, education would raise offenders’ awareness, making them distinguish between right and wrong. Therefore, they would not participate in unlawful actions in the future. Finally, since everyone has right to live, offering education and job training is synonymous to giving them a chance to start their own lives again. This activity reflects a sense of humanity, which is necessary to keep the sustainable development of the nation.

However, I would argue that the most effective way is to put criminals into prison. First, because offenders have to take charge of what they have done, they need to be jailed to warn others. If the government educate and give these individuals job training, other people would not be afraid and keep committing crimes. As a result, there might be an increase in the rate of crime. Additionally, by taking this measure, criminals lose freedom and have much time alone to think about their illegal behaviors. Consequently, they would feel regretful about their wrongdoing and avoid breaking the law after being released. This leads to a safer society.

In conclusion, while education and job training can bring a number of benefits, I believe that putting offenders into prison is the better method.