It is true that some minority languages may disappear in the near future. Although it can be
argued that governments could save money by allowing this to happen, I believe that these
languages should be protected and preserved.
There are several reasons why saving minority languages could be seen as a waste of money.
Firstly, if a language is only spoken by a small number of people, expensive education
programmers will be needed to make sure that more people learn it, and the state will have to
pay for facilities, teachers and marketing. This money might be better spent on other public
services. Secondly, it would be much cheaper and more efficient for countries to have just one
language. Governments could cut all kinds of costs related to communicating with each
minority group.
Despite the above arguments, I believe that governments should try to preserve languages
that are less widely spoken. A language is much more than simply a means of communication;
it has a vital connection with the cultural identity of the people who speak it. If a language
disappears, a whole way of life will disappear with it, and we will lose the rich cultural diversity
that makes societies more interesting. By spending money to protect minority languages,
governments can also preserve traditions, customs and behaviors that are part of a country’s
history.
In conclusion, it may save money in the short term if we allow minority languages to
disappear, but in the long term this would have an extremely negative impact on our cultural
heritage.