It is true that shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. In my view, rapidly changing fashion and advertisments are mainly responsible for this.

Firstly, as the trends are changing, so to be updated the younger generation always try to buy something which is trending. As, the affordability of things has been increased so, now everyone can buy things at an affordable price. The presence of online platforms has made it much easier for the people to buy the trending things at an affordable price with a single click on mouse. Also, the younger generation is easily influenced by the advertisement due toh which they buy things impulsively. Some of the young adults usually buy more products just for showoff or to gain the attention of their Friends. All these reasons are responsible for the popularity of shopping among the young adults.

In my opinion, this leisure activity is contributing more towards the negative development of young adults. Younger adults can use their leisure time in some healthy activities rather than wasting their time on shopping. This leisure activity is leading to sedentary lifestyle of more people from younger generation.

To sum up, young adults can use their leisure time in some other activities which can help them in their skill development.