Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

There is a policy in multiple countries to provide government benefits to unemployed people. This enables them to sustain while they are hunting for a job. There is a school of thought that such candidates must in return do dome community service as a payback. This essay completely endorses this thought.

It has been observed that longer a person searches for a job, wider the career gap becomes. This in turn makes it even harder to seek a jobs sine employers do not prefer to hire unemployed candidates. The job seeker ends up in a vicious circle. Volunteering towards a community service would enhance the skill set of such people and would also heighten their self-confidence. This will in turn increase their probability to be hired in the job market. For instance, an unemployed teacher could teach underprivileged students without any fees. This would not only benefit the society but would also sharpen the mentor skill of that teacher.

Government would also gain from this unpaid contribution of unemployed candidates. Since no salaries have to be paid, money saved could be used in the betterment of the society. To illustrate, if government is providing benefits worth 100 dollars to a job seeker and in return gets even t 50 dollars worth of unpaid service, the overall government expenses reduces by half.

To conclude, there are many people in society who do not have any source of income and are drawing government benefits. Volunteer contribution from them towards social service will be a win-win situation both for the benefit provider and the seeker.