The tendency of human being to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is a popular notion that people tend to observe and follow other people’s choices. This is commonly reflected in fashion clothes and consumer goods. This essay agrees with this concept and explains further about the psychological human behavior.

Human beings are social animals and tend to be in groups. As a result, they are highly influenced by each other’s behavior and choices. Any trend introduced in the society either by people considered as role models or via social media gains popularity and is opted by most of the people. This is more common in young people. For example, in colleges, majority of youngsters are seen flaunting fashionable clothes. Any newcomer in the college will attempt to follow the current fashion trend to attain acceptance among other students. Overall this tendency to gain acceptance in social groups drives people to copy others. Similarly apart from clothes people tend to use products which are commonly used and accepted by the majority. For example, a decade back every Indian household exhibited television boxes. But these days these are being replaced by LED versions. Any new buyer is not opting to buy the television box set since these are considered as outdated. Another example is the sale of cars. A certain brand of car (Maruti) is more popular among Indians and buying it is considered a smart choice. Whenever a person goes to the market to but a commodity he often seeks other people’s advice and chooses the most favored product.

However not all people tend to follow the masses. These are the people who make their own decisions and often try to experiment in life. For instance, fashion designers who go by their own fashion. But such people form a very small section of the society and are mostly seen as the trend setters. Similarly very few people can be seen not using or minimally using consumer goods in spite of being wealthy enough.

To conclude people often seek approval from each other. This behavior is confirmed when people are seen following the current fashion trends or buying the popular products in the market. There is a forever attempt by the people to not to look or feel outdated in any aspect.