Some people say that government should decide what subjects a student can study, while others believe that students should decide what they want to study. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Education plays an important role in shaping a person’s life. A section of people believe that subjects studied by a student must be decided by the government. Whereas, other section of people asserts that students must be given freedom of choosing their study subjects.

There has been a rise in unemployment rate since past few decades. Also it has been observed that there is more demand than supply of workforce in certain sectors and vice versa in others. For example, there is shortage of teachers and doctors in our country. On the contrary, unemployed people with MBA degrees are a common sight. If the government selects career path for each student, this imbalance of workforce in various domains would be corrected. This implies that a class of 50 school students would eventually yield equal number of doctors, teachers, lawyers etc. instead of only MBAs and engineers.

On the flip side, if the student is not passionate about his study subjects, there are higher chances of failure. A student may lose his focus and interest in studies if forced to study a wrong subject. This will eventually led to higher number of dropouts and low quality professionals whereas liberty to study as per ones area of interest will motivate the student to achieve excellence. For example, a student pressurized to study medicine will ultimately become a frustrated doctor risking other people’s lives. Whereas, a pupil studying medical subjects willingly, will learn and work with full hard work and determination.

In a nutshell, career choice cannot be enforced on any person. It is a fundamental right of a student to select his subjects and carve path of his life independently.