Some people say that government should decide what subjects a student can study, while others believe that students should decide what they want to study. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Education is more important in a student's life. Many people argue that the government is the decision maker for the subjects which a student learns in the school. Whereas, some people say that it is the student who has the right to choose the subjects that could benefit his future. My opinion is that government could give more options for the students to decide which subjects they want to study instead of forcing them to study particular subjects.

Firstly, the government is the deciding authority of the students education. They focus on creating values for the students career. Moreover, They encourage the institutions to follow the same. For example, Tamil Nadu government changed the matriculation syllabus which had twelve subjects to state board syllabus having only six subjects and hence, the exams are also conducted in two forms that is theory and practical. As a result, this helps the students to concentrate on few subjects and get hands on experience during the practical classes.

Secondly, every student has the right to build their own career. They are capable of choosing the subjects which would create a bright future. For instance, if a student wants to become a programmer, he would select the subjects that are related to computer programming instead of physics and chemistry. Therefore, mastering the programming languages could help them in getting better job opportunities.

In conclusion, my view is that the government introduces a new methods to add values to the education but, it cannot insist the students to focus on particular subjects as it may affect their career.