Should young children be encouraged to follow a strict set of rules based on culture and tradition or should they be allowed to behave freely?

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Since ages, there are divided opinions in different cultures regarding the ways to bring up children. Some always back the strict and religious set of rules whereas others always defend freedom from such rules and advocate giving a free rein to children. It seems that the time has now come that we should step out of traditional boundaries.

Strict sets of rules often kill creativity and inhibit individual development. We all are different and we come in this world with different abilities. Now, if similar cultural or religious rules apply to all, it is discouraging indeed. In addition, such compulsion often forces people to rebel against the set up. Those who rebel may reach great heights in their lives like Jesus Christ, Gautam Budha, Swami Vivekanand, Salman Rushdie and so on. Vice versa, those who cannot break free against the confinements of stringent set of religious and cultural protocols of behaviour often get repressed and live a doomed life.

On the other hand, freedom gives birth to creativity. It also promotes faster individual growth and, contrary to most who believe that freedom makes people irresponsible. I think liberty can inculcate virtues of responsibility at a faster pace in our minds. However, a minute proportion of people may misuse the freedom for negative purposes but they cannot be used as example to limit opportunities for whole a lot of other people.

Finally, I agree that freedom gives more opportunity to grow in life. Provided children are prevented from hurting anyone, they should be given as much freedom as possible.