Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, using cigarettes is considered to be a chief factor of illness and death rates across the globe. Many claim that, in the favor of the public health, it is governments’ responsibility to impose a ban on tobacco products usage. I, for one, entirely agree with the given statement on the basis of some compelling reasons.

To begin with, smokers put a heavy burden on the public health system. First and foremost, having detrimental effects on body, these plague products ruin the lungs, as well as other organs. Therefore, more and more smokers will have to visit hospitals and occupy beds and nurses, which clearly puts more pressure on them. Second, smoking is not only harmful to themselves, but also to the people around them. These so-called passive smokers are said to face quite the same negative effects, aking to the real smokers. Take stadiums or parks as an example; they entail many individuals using cigarettes, which is not acceptable per se. Thus, they give rise to many irreversible physical repercussions to the public, and in turn, create difficult circumstances for the public health.

Additionally, availability can be a deciding factor (a causative factor) in this respect. In fact, the more tobacco products are there to be consumed, the more people, especially the youngsters, are prone to falling prey to cigarettes and even drugs. Here, there might be some groups who would contend that people should have free will to decide for themselves. I, however, think that these people who choose to smoke, should be required to pay more taxed, or even be forced to pay their treatment costs. Governments here have done the right thing to engrave the ‘government health warning’ label, but it seems this action has not been enough. As a result, imposing heavy constraints on these products might be a progressive step.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that governments and legislators should be tough on this matter, as it harms society as a whole. Put large tax constraints and prohibiting smoking in most places seem to be the correct way to lessen its damaging effects.