In some countries, many people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that many people now are opting for living on their own compared to decades ago. I, for one, believe that the given statement is rather a positive trend on the basis of some compelling reasons.

To begin with, the benefits accruing from living by yourself are by no means negligible. First and foremost, it is of paramount importance in terms of learning how to live, especially when it comes to youngsters. Simply put, many of these young people decide to leave the nest at the ages of eighteen to twenty to learn how to be independent. Should they continue staying with their parents, they will not probably face any conundrums in life, and in turn, they will not improve as an adult. Second, it can be a good practice for the future life with a partner. Cooking, cleaning the house, and taking care of distinct parts of it are salient illustrations.

Admittedly, I understand that many would contend that loneliness could contribute to various problems, however, I think the advantages of it outweigh the drawbacks. If it is done in the right way and at the right time, it never can be problematic. For this reason, before choosing to live alone, one should be able to make enough money to cover the expenses, such as paying for the bills, food, and property taxation and rent. In previous years, only parents would shoulder the aforementioned costs of the whole family. Now, however, since the youth are not as conformist as they used to be, which is a good development in my point of view per se, they prefer to experience dependency much sooner. Thus, not only can they develop their lifestyle and lead a life that they desire, but also remove the extra financial pressure on their fathers and mothers.

In conclusion, the number of merits of this modern phenomenon exceeds the drawbacks. Overall, it seems to be a positive improvement of today’s world since it is of great value for people, particularly younger adults.