Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial issue about the influence of smoking on non-smokers. Some doctors say that it has detrimental effects on their health and, therefore, society should prohibit it in crowded places. In this essay, I agree with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why some medical workers state that smoking should be prohibitive in shared locations. The first justification is that people may develop respiratory diseases. Staying close to smokers frequently triggers some illnesses, such as cancer and asthma, so authorities should allocate special places for smoking, where casual people will not appear. Another reason is that children may adopt smoking from older people. Youngsters often become smokers as well, unless they will not see how adults enjoy smoking in playgrounds. Furthermore, smoking in crowded spots may negatively affect pregnant women. A small dose of smoke is usually enough to curb the development of babies, and, therefore, the government should prevent it from happening, if it wants to have healthy population.

However, some advocates of human rights argue that smokers should not be limited in rights. They justify their viewpoint with the following arguments. Firstly, smoke alone is unable to initiate disorders in body. People may find cancer in their organism, even if they have never contacted active smokers. Secondly, children may take smoking habit from other places. It is proven that people, who smoke much, tend to start this unwell behavior, after they watch cigarette advertisement. Moreover, many future mothers never mind smoking themselves. Many females continue smoking, despite their pregnancy, so it is unfair to make active smokers responsible for the future generation.

In conclusion, even though some right protectors say that society should not make public areas unapproachable for smokers, I think that authorities should take preventive measures against passive smoking.