Social media has many positive uses, but there have been some negative consequences to it as well. Identify a problem caused by social media and describe the solutions you would propose to address this problem.

Many people argue that social media has been often associated with some problems. This essay will discuss some causes of these problems as well as some possible solutions to tackle them.

Two of the biggest problems resulting from social media are physical and psychological problems. In terms of physical problems, social media is known as a main reason why current generation do not have enough physical activities than previous ones did. For example, the excessive use of social media causes 10 per cent of the British children between 7 and 15 to suffer from obesity. Moreover, those who spend more than three hours per day in social media have low skill in making a good relationship. According to recent studies in the UK, these people have higher chance to get depression and anxiety in their life time.

There are some actions can be done to deal with these problems. Firstly, people should be aware of dire consequences of social media. Therefore, government, non-profit organizations and even individuals should take their responsibilities in raising public awareness about negative effects. Secondly, in my personal perspective, people can use some optional restricting apps with the aim of lowering their dependency of social media. For example, there are some apps to give applicants to use social media, such as Facebook and Snapchat, for just short time period per day.

In conclusion, I believe that social media like a double-edged sword and we should be aware of their destructive effects. Raising public awareness as well as using some restricting apps could be two steps to deal with problems caused by social media.