Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic and air pollution problems have been becoming a growing concern over last 50 years ago. Although an effective solution can be a rise in fossil fuels price, I believe that other measures need to be taken to tackle these problems.

On the one hand, there are some advantages to increasing petrol cost. Nobody doubts that this policy causes many people, especially common people, to commute no longer with their personal vehicles. This policy can encourage people to switch from personal cars to public transport. Moreover, money saved from increasing petrol's price can use for supporting environmental-oriented researches. In the UK, for example, creative ideas about possible ways to deal with air pollution problems have been supporting through imposing high carbon tax.

On the other hand, besides increasing the cost of fossil fuels, other actions are also necessary. Firstly, people must be aware of the dire consequences of air pollution in their life. Government, non-profit organizations, and even individuals must take steps to raise public awareness. I believe that media such as television, internet, and social media is a good option to do this. Secondly, in my perspective, traffic problems could have solved if there had been suitable urban infrastructure, like highways, subway, or train. Thus, huge investment in expanding all means of transportation can be another effective way.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of petrol seems to be a good idea, but it is not sufficient. In my opinion, other measures such as raising public awareness and improving urban infrastructures are also necessary.