Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution problems go hand in hand. These are two sides of the same coin. In order to eradicate this governing bodies think petrol costs should be increased. In this essay I shall shed some light on this issue and suggest the measures that can be taken to mitigate the problem.

Traffic problem particularly in metropolitan cities and high level of pollution due to this has always been a matter of concern. To control this increasing petrol prices is not going to help as it will have many drawbacks on the society. Firstly, it could lead to an increase prices of many goods, products, vegetables etc.which are transported in heavy vehicles from one place to another. This would pinch the pockets of middle and low class people of our society. Secondly, it would limit an individual's liberty to travel freely for any purpose be it recreational, office or meeting friends and relatives. This could have an adverse effect on one's personal and social life.

To deal with traffic and pollution problems more effectively government should work towards improving the standards and frequency of public transportation. It should be easily accessible and should be comfortable to travel. Following to this the roads should be repaired and maintained in a timely manner. Government should invest in constructing new roads & flyovers in order to solve the traffic issue.

To conclude I believe instead of increasing petrol prices government should take the steps mentioned which will solve traffic issue to a great extent thus solving pollution problems.