Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?What other measures do you think might be effective?

Under the background that the metropolitans and even the small cities suffers more and more serious problems of congestion and pollution, some people argue that the price of petrol should be increased. While I partly agree this can make a difference, there are other measures we can do to tackle these problems.

The rising cost of oil gas influences consumers' behaviors in many ways. First of all, considering the famous economic theory, namely, demand-needs theory, price is an effective factor to change the relation between demand and needs of products. The needs of oil will slump with the higher price. As a result, people are less likely to drive their cars. However, servals needs are still difficult to adjust, which will lead to increase a small segment of citizen's burden.

Luckily, governments and individuals have various other solutions to choose. Governments have the ability to allocate more of their budgets on developing public transportation, such as buses, electric trains, metros and expresses, which are more effective and environmentally friendly. Secondly, better designs and construction of roads and urban planning benefit a lot by using available transportation facilities better. For instance, when housing regions are scattered in the suburb and jobs are concentrated in CBD, commuting could invoke too much pressure on transportation during rush hours. Finally, governments could hold some activities to encourage individuals to improve their awareness about energy crisis on our planet . As individuals, we are supposed to change our behaviors to reduce the pollution and protect the environment.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel the only logical conclusion is that the higher gas cost could deal with the problems in some degree and both governments and individuals are able to apply other potent effective solutions.