Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, some governments increase price of petrol as the solution for growing traffic and pollution issues. On my point of view, I strongly disagree with that initiatve due to different reasons. Therefore, in this essay, I shall discuss on the other posssible solution that could be taken to mitigate pollutin and traffic congestion.

First and foremost, petrol is not only used in vehicles, but also in machinery used in industries. If, the petrol prices are increase it will effect tp the whole economic system, due to increase in transportation cost. If, governments need to minimize the traffic congestion they can invest lucrative amount on improving the quality of the public transportation. They can increase the number of trains and buses together with expanded and integrated road network inside the country.

In addition, governments can promote sustainable energy sources among their citizens such as solar power, wind power and sea wave power. For instance, they can provide loans on the purchase of solar panels or else the government can finace part of their initial cost of installation of solar panels. Similarly, governments can improve infrastructure facilities in suburbs to mitigate the number of vehicles coming in to the city limits, such as establishing government bodies in suburb areas. For example Sri Lanka, operates with two different cities such as commercial and administrative based on the nature of their operations. Some employers, even implemented flexible working hours and creat virtual offices to avoid traffic congestio together with the number of road accidents.

On the other hand, there are more other factors that would contribute on pollution other than fossil fuel fumes. The pesticides used in agricultural activities contribute on water, air and soil polluion. Utilization of CFC gas would also effect on air pollution other than fossil fuel combustion.

In conclusion, it is recommended not to increase the cost of petrol as a solution for pollution and traffic congestion. As an alternative solution, governments has to make a change in their attitudes on energy conservation and sustainable growth.