Some argue that it is the responsibility of the parents to teach children about healthy eating habits, whereas others believe that teachers should be responsible for teaching their students how to eat in a healthy way.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Eating habits play a vital role in the proper nourishment of persons physical and mental health. With the increasing percentage of an obese population, it is evident that education imparting healthy benefits from proper food intake has become vital. However, some people view this as a responsibility of parents, whereas others state this as a teacher's job for inculcating proper education. Both views are expressed in this essay.

Children spend majority of their time with their parents, most of their habits are developed at home. To illustrate, parents who prefer eating home-cooked meals and pursue fresh fruits and vegetables in majority of their diet, pupils will passionately follow the healthy protocols, moreover, in India majority of families are vegetarians based on their family backgrounds. Subsequently, if parents are depended on outside food or meals, children will find it challenging to shift to home-cooked meals in future. Thus parenting shapes the eating habits of a child.

Additionally, pupils spend significant time in schools, learning basic skills and knowledge necessary for survival. Many schools have their meal programmes to retain their eating habits and teach them the benefits. Furthermore, the personal development lectures are made compulsory in the curriculum, where students are taught about the advantages and disadvantages of the foods and why proper nourishments are required to avoid causing detrimental effects to their body in life long-run.

To sum up, both parents and teachers play a crucial role in defining the pupils' eating habits; thus, it is significantly essential to rectify the habits at the right age to have a better lifestyle in the future.