In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.

What are the causes of this?

What actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In certain places across the globe, one of the common problems is a significant rise in traffic. This essay will discuss the main causes of increase in traffic and propose possible solutions to curb this.

With regards to high volumes of traffic, the cardinal factor is the trend of urbanization. This is because of substantial migration of population from country side to major cities and towns in search of better jobs, which provided high income and resulting in skyrocketing of sales of private vehicles. In contrast, whereas in the past, purchase if such automobiles was very low because an average person could not afford to buy. To combat this problem, the government needs to invest in public transport like trams, metro rails, and other possibilities. As a result, this will lead to reduction in use of own cars and reduces traffic congestion.

Another pressing issue of heavy traffic is the lack of good infrastructure. The smaller width of the roads is not helping the increasing motor-vehicles population. For example, in India, city of Bangalore, 70% of the individuals are settlers from environs of small villages; due to smaller roads of the city, it is not able to accommodate more number if motor travelers. Dealing with issues involves the alternatives for public transportation, for instance, car pooling of people travelling in the same route. Thus, there will be a drop in the number of people who are using a car for solo travel.

In conclusion, urbanization and poor road facilities are the vital reasons for traffic congestion. However, this can be mitigated by making more investment in public transport and use of alternatives such as group transport arrangements.