In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

It is impossible to imagine our life without transport in cities. However, it is said that the traffic capacity is almost exceeded. This essay will consider what cause this overload and suggest some feasible steps to tackle this problem.

The first reason is that urban areas often have a poor design of roads. Initially cities and their infrastructure were planned to accommodate a limited of people, but now with the growth of population cities cannot deal with extra pressure on the traffic capacity. The second cause of the problem with heavy traffic is a growing number of cars. Modern life with its hectic lifestyle usually forces people to purchase cars so that they can either arrive at work on time or drop their children, for example, at school. The last reason is that public transport is insufficient in number and quality to meet the needs of citizens. Many people prefer to take a drive in personal cars instead of buses because public transportation is often of low-quality and dissatisfy all needs.

A possible solution to the problem with growing number of cars on the roads is to redesign existing highways. City authorities can both widen narrow roads and construct new branches in street where it is impossible to change the bandwidth. Another way to deal with this problem is to raise taxes on vehicles. Once the government increases taxation on personal transport, the number of car purchases will decline and, therefore, roads will become free of cars to some extent. On top of that, municipal transportation can rise in number and quality. People would change their preferences and choose buses instead if the number of buses, for instance, were more in quantity and had better interior. Therefore, the government should subsidize this industry and make standards for public transport operators tighter.

In conclusion, there are many factors, mainly relating to the poor architecture of roads and public transport, that increase the traffic load in cities, but it is possible to solve this issue mostly by the government.