Recent years there are discussions about city planning. Some suggest that the housing area can be increased by building more taller constructions, while others believe building individual houses on a wider and larger land. In my opinion, I am convinced that constructing houses is a better and suitable way under economical and physical circumstances.

By building houses in a broader district, the population density will become much lower. The average residential area per person could be significantly increased. The cost of living will then be reduced. Residents can save more money because of reduced rent and cheaper food. They can spend it somewhere else, like personal entertainment and travelling. As a result, their quality of life will be raised.

Individuals may argue that living in a wider and further district could lead to longer commute time and safety issues. I believe it is just partly true. With further and complete development of certain region, businesses like banks and supermarket will set up different branches there. People living there will not require travelling around the city again. Regarding security issues, it can be solved by redistribution of police forces. It will not cause any serious problem.

In summary, although there may be some short-term drawbacks to set up residential zone on a wider location, its long-term benefits do worth it.