It is quite common these days for the authorities in different countries to decide the location and features when creating a residential region. Yet, whether building taller apartments or individual houses has caused a heated debate. I tend to agree with the view that setting up residential area with tall buildings for the following reasons.

One important reason for this is that on a same size of land, comparing to a single house, a sky-scrapping apartment can meet the demand of rapid-growing population. Given the multi-storey structure, it provides extra rooms for residents. In stark contrast, if a flat-house is built instead, only one single family can be populated, which is a significant difference in terms of space availability. Therefore, it is definitely an appropriate and effective way to construct a housing area using high-rise buildings.

Those who harbor the view that building flat-house is a better option believe that they can acquire larger living space and fresher air, which could create a more desirable living environment. But unfortunately, they are oversimplifying the situation that only those affluent individuals, who are the minorities of the whole population, can afford such houses. In fact, living in apartment buildings can increase interactions between neighborhoods, which is a positive development of society. For example, when I was living in a public estates with multiple tall blocks, I met a lot of friends around the neighborhood and used to hung out and played football with them. Few years later, however, after relocating to a town-house near the countryside, I had never met any new neighbors again. Furthermore, apart from residential zone, those remained non-residential land area can be converted into various alternatives like park or shopping mall for recreational purpose.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that building taller apartment buildings is more reasonable and feasible way to create housing. Meanwhile, we should not compromise people’s living qualities while adopting certain policies.