It is a controversial topic whether urban areas should be expanded horizontally or vertically. However, from my perspective, the comparison between two solutions is irrelevant as the choice mainly relies on the conditions and needs of a specific region.

The major reason for the development of cities vertically is its space-saving. Apparently, the metropolis usually has an overcrowded population which increases the housing demand over the residents. Thus, vertical housing expansion is a feasible solution to this dilemma with various benefits, especially in countries of land scarcity. This solution not only saves land funds for more crucial public constructions but also accommodates numerous citizens. For instance, by planning cities with sky-scraping apartments and buildings, Singapore, whose land area is significantly small, has solved the massive problem and developed into a nation with a huge population density. Moreover, because of living in sharing areas, the price for accommodations is likely to be budget-friendly. Thanks to its reasonable cost, it is clearly offered for low-income and mid-income opportunities to live in housing of average or higher quality.

On the other hand, the method of expanding cities horizontally also has its own advantages for the proper areas. This method is most suitable for areas that have abundant resources, spacious land funds as well as low population density. Therefore, the main reason to be mentioned is the sense of comfort brought from the bigger private space of detached houses compared to apartments or high-rise buildings. Because of sharing living areas, people living in skyward buildings usually do indoor activities while the low-rise buildings give them spaces for their outdoor activities. In addition, one of the priority targets of city planning is the guarantee of people's safety, especially areas with high incidence of natural disasters, in order to minimize the loss of human and property

To sum up, whether urban areas should be expanded horizontally or vertically is still a controversial topic. In my opinion, sooner or later, expansion in both vertical and horizontal ways will be a trend as a method for their holistic development.