Some Cities have vehicle free days where private cars,trucks, and motorcycles are banned in city centres.Only bus,bicycle and taxies are allowed in city centre.Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

RUSHABH SHAH:

In handful cities,the concept of vehicle free day is promoted where private vehicles are not allowed and public transport,bicycles are given more freedom.Although it has some benefits and drawbacks, I believe that advantages outweigh disadvantages.

The first positive aspect of vehicle free days is that the less traffic is observed on road.It leads to less injuries and physical accidents on a particular day. Moreover, noise and environmental pollution levels are controlled to some extent which are significant measures for preservance of Eco-system. The second beneficial aspect is that it makes people divert to alternative mode of transport. As a result,people are encouraged to commute through bicycle, which is essential for sound health of public. In addition,it gives space to activities that are undertaken to providing first aid, protection against fire. People feel safe and can wander around the city on bicycle and bus.

Nevertheless,despite the benefits above for vehicle-free day, there are some minor drawbacks. First negative aspect is that it might happen that taxies and bus drivers may charge more from customers as they are only the mode of transports on this day and start earning huge revenue unfairly.Besides this, if private cars are banned the transportation of industrial raw-materials and stock is hampered as the trucks do not get allowed. Lastly, if bus and private taxes are more on road it is likely that there will be no safety for MLAs,VIPs, on this day.

In Conclusion, although vehicle free day has some pitfalls, for encouragement to drive more cycles it should be promoted more.