In some countries around the world men and women tend to have their children later in life. Why is this happening? What are the effects on society and family life?

In the preceding decades, it was quite natural that couples get married at the younger age and start a family at the age of 23 to 25. Yet with the passage of time, this trend has been changed, momentarily, most of the youngsters have a tendency to postpone their parenthood until the age of late 30 or even in early 40's. There are plenty of reasons behind this approach and it may be harmful for the life of family as well as community. Let me elaborate further on this.

To embark with, one of the prime causes is nowadays parents are becoming more ambitious, especially women. They are more focused and dedicated towards their career than they used to be. For most of the women building and climbing the ladder of career is difficult after having a baby therefore they plan their kids after achieving their goals. Secondly, few parents believe that financial stability is imperative to raise and fulfill all needs of offspring. We have experienced that kids’ education and other necessities such as clothes, food, toys have become costly day by day due to higher inflation rate. Parents can accomplish not only basic demands of their children but also satisfy their luxuries hobbies if they have abundance savings. Last but not least, couples want to enjoy their life to the fullest hence they postpone baby planning. Parents sacrifice plethora of things for their offspring such as wishes, health, sleep, hobbies and so on as they spare most of the hours nurturing their kids. They do not have enough time after kids as a result they decide to postpone baby planning at a later stage of life.

On the contrary, this trend has a detrimental aftermath on our life, with regard to families, it can be more difficult to get pregnant, and they might experience a health problem such as miscarriage and high blood pressure if they plan baby at later stage of life. It will impact negatively on the child as well as the mother's health. Moreover, the age gap is bigger between parents and kids which can lead to creating lots of difficulties to comprehend each other. For instance, parents are unable to understand the mindset of children due to the generation gap and it may cause conflict and unnecessary strain on their relationship. In addition, older parents tire easily which can restrict the enjoyment and participation in parenthood. Conversely, at the tender age children feel the burden of taking care of older parents.

To wrap-up, I hold my pencil concluding that, although there are a considerable number of consequences of this trend, having children at a later stage of life is fruitful if the couple plan well in advance. Owing to advanced technology like IVF, it helps older couples to become parents consequently that the younger generation can easily balance and render importance to both career planning and family planning to achieve optimum results.