In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s modern world, obesity is emerging as a serious issue which is leading to devastating health issues. In the following essay, we will discuss the principle causes and possible solutions to tackle health problems associated with obesity.

Firstly, everyone is busy in their lives. Job and family commitments make it impossible for one to cook for themselves, thus relying on fast foods which are convenient to buy but packed with the massive amount of calories. Increased consumption of processed food items manifests itself in the form of weight gain cause the health to deteriorate. For instance, MacDonald’s and KFC are offering full meals for less than 3 dollars, which attracts the customers due to excellent cost. Thus the easy accessibility and price factors are making such products popular day by day.

Secondly, a decrease in physical activity is another leading cause of obesity. Some people have sitting jobs while others prefer to spend their time indoors. Such sedentary lifestyle creates an imbalance between energy intake and consumption resulting in increased weight. Moreover, a lack of exercise has a bad effect on vital organs like the heart. For example, a recent survey shows a 60 percent increase in ischemic heart diseases secondary to obesity due to lack of physical activity. Hence, lack of proper exercise is another leading cause.

The question arises, what can be done to stop such problems? At first, the government needs to introduce proper legislation in regards to caloric control at fast food places. A proper meal plan with a certain amount of greens salads should be made compulsory. For example, the law in US says to serve salads with every burger meal. Secondly, every person should make a personal effort to increase physical activity. By making a proper schedule for the day anyone can spare an hour for his own self and exercise. The positive effect of such effort will bring priceless advantages to one’s life.

In conclusion, the abundance of convenience foods and lack of physical exercise are the main reasons for health issue related to obesity. The solution, however, lies in proper legislation and an individual’s effort for the improvement of his own health.