A University should accept male and female students equally in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

University quota for students based on gender is a recent issue in many countries. While some believe that males and female should be accepted equally in every subject, others think oppositely. In my opinion universities should not accept both genders equally in every subject. Analyzing the facts that females generally don’t pursue careers after university and suitability of certain subjects for a particular gender will prove our point.

First of all, it is a renowned fact the most of female graduates do not pursue their careers. The priorities change with family situations or other social or personal issues. For example, a recent survey in Pakistan shows that upto 75% female medical graduates don’t work at all. With the current shortage of skilled workers and high amount of financial support by government, it is wrong practice. In such cases it’s a better option to give more admission to more deserving students. Thus lack of use of university resources in a hasty manner supports our stance.

Secondly, some subjects have particular skills which are better for a particular gender. For example looking at nursing, we expect a motherly care from a nurse in the hospital and females can provide such care much better than the males. Similarly, mechanical engineering and petroleum engineering are the fields which demand high levels of endurance and working in rugged fields. Although women can perform these duties, males will naturally be choice for such subject. Thus choice of gender for certain skill prove our point.

In conclusion, many fields are suitable for a particular gender and universities have to make sure that their services don’t get wasted. In my opinion universities should not accept males and females equally in ever subject. In the future, government should develop strict laws against the people who don’t pursue their careers when governments finance their studies.