A University should accept male and female students equally in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Write at least 250 words.

Tertiary institutions should enroll the same number of female and male students in all programmes or courses. I strongly agree with this notion and this essay shall discuss the reasons to support this.

Firstly, Universities should ensure that there is a balance between male and female students when they enroll them into courses to promote gender equality. Following the Beijing conference on gender equality that took place some years ago, it resulted in the adoption of gender equality issues in employment. Therefore, in order to have a balanced gender at workplaces it has to start from the institutions of training by making sure that the recruitment of students takes gender balance into consideration.

Secondly, there is a need to equip both men and women with skills for certain jobs and this will offer the consumers with a choice when seeking help. A case in point is that, in places like the hospitals where there is need to have both male and female nurses especially in the labour wards, some women prefer female nurses to males in assisting them with delivery. As a result of this, it is therefore important that there should be a balance in the enrolments of universities as regard the gender, so that when they qualify the women that seek medical attention are able to exercise their right to choose whomsoever they prefer to render them a service in the hospitals .

In conclusion, I strongly agree that universities should have a balance between man and women when selecting students for all programmes so that gender equality is achieved which then becomes crucial when they qualify because service recipients will have a choice between male and female service providers.