A University should accept male and female students equally in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Write at least 250 words.

There is a current issue relating to the acceptance of unequal proportion of male and female students in university admissions may lead to a belief that the admission processes are sexist. Therefore, it is suggested that universities should admit students in the equal proportion/number of female and male students in every subject. However, such policy will not be feasible as the result will bring more inequality in a greater extent.

First of all, the main problem underlies in the departments where the number of female and male student candidates are highly unequal. For instance, in engineering departments, the number of male candidates are always higher because only a few females are interested to study engineering. If the admission sections try to put equal proportion/number of males and females, it is clear that females have higher admission chance rather than males.

Secondly, even though it is possible putting equal number of male and female students in the subjects where there are almost equal interests in both sexes, it still creates disadvantages in some promising candidates. Even though top candidates are unaffected, candidates at the lowest passing grades will be affected. For instance, a male candidate is theoretically possible to be accepted with his qualifications, but the admission cannot accept him because the male admission quota is already full. As a result, university will bear a consequence to lose more promising students in order to fulfil equal gender policy.

In a conclusion, universities should not put equal gender policy in the practice of university admission as some promising candidates will not be accepted because of their gender. As a result, this sounds more sexist than not putting equal gender policy.