Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There is no hesitation in saying that celebrities like film stars and sports stars are paid considerably high amount of money than those who are in important professions like bureaucracy, doctors and engineers.

Generally, Sport starts, apart from excelling in their game, they also entertain a large number of people. This naturally gets the attention of the public and the media. So they become very popular. Commercial product manufacturers take advantage of this popularity and they use these famous personalities to promote their product by paying ample amount of money. A great example for this is Sachin Tendulkar, A famous cricketer in India, who is treated as the god of cricket. He acted in many advertisement films supporting numerous mercenary brands. Most of his income is out this job than batting in the field. This proves that the celebrities earn more money by influencing society than doing their own job.

On the other hand, the main reason for the people in crucial professions is not paid as much as sports stars are due to lack of identification. These people normally stick to their own job and most importantly the outcomes of their jobs are not entertaining. Also, media doesn’t show interest in focusing their work. Even if a documentary is telecasted on their achievements, people just watch and ignore it. A great example of this is Mr Vishweswar, who was a chief architect of one of the major irrigation projects in India. In his project, the design of the reservoir is so amazing that it has become the key resource of water for thousands of hectors of cultivating the land. Though his achievement contributed major role in the eradication of poverty in south India by reducing the cost of farming, he was not paid any extra money for this. This proves that people can’t become wealthy by helping the society.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the attitude of the people should change. They should identify the real heroes. Every individual should realise that the people who give benefits to the society should get paid more that those who entertain them.