Industrialization ushered in a system allowing under-age to take up a contract of employment. Some argued that it is a reasonable idea to allow teenagers to work part-time. However, others considered it preposterous. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in this essay before conclusion is reached.

On one hand, working at an early stage of life is often a precursor to successful impeccable future work-life. For example, predominantly but not in total, all young people under paid employment during the Nigerian Civil War have this day become general managers and executive officers of businesses today. This example makes it clear that early exposure to part-time job tends to build the organisational skills of young-people. Thus, teenagers should not be discouraged if they are found engaging in part-time jobs.

On the other hand, employers of these teenagers tends to exploit them and further deprive them of their fundamental work rights. Take for instance, during the Goldrush, a whole lot of under-age were subjected to compulsory work and were ridiculously under-paid. Moreover, outright non-payment of stipends was used as a punishment for work related offences. As this example shows, teenagers would not have had a better understanding of the term of employment surrounding their jobs thereby limiting them from claiming any damages. It is therefore clear that teenagers working part-time is rather an unreasonable idea.

After analysing this topic, it can be seen that the disadvantages or teenagers working part-time outweighs the inherent advantages. It is hoped that countries the world over should not encourage such arrangement as organisational skills needed for the future can be learnt in the future rather than subjection to exploitation.