In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them to get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education.

What should schools do to prepare students for the world of the work?

Over the last decade, there has been a debate whether students should apply for schools which teach practical skills or those focus on academic study more. I have the notion that schools should provide not only academic knowledge but also practical skills. This will be proven by looking at the reasons behind the importance of having both proper education and suitable skills.

On the one hand, Teaching academic subjects has been the essential role of all education institutions for along time. In other words, these subjects are mandatory, so that workers could perform their jobs in a good manner. For example, engineers need to learn Math and Algebra in middle school in order that they could learn engineering-related subjects at colleage, and Doctors have to be good in chemistry in order to do their jobs effectively. If, instead, students were not taught such subjects while they are in school, they would have to study them in colleage.

On the other hand, schools are the perfect place for acquisition the necessary skills for life after graduation. For instance, there are skills which are required to be unique in what they do such as computer skills and working under pressure, moreover, other skills are needed to get a job in the first place like communication and presentation skills. This is because the majority of well-known companies are searching for candidates with such skills, since all employees are supposed to get proper training in order to get the required knowledge. Thus, it is recommended that schools should avoid neglecting teaching practical skills for future workers.

By way of conclusion, although many schools focus on academic education only, in my perspective, learning practical skills are of the same importance. Therefore, it is the Ministry of Education's responibility to ensure that work-needed skills are included as well as academic knowledge in schools' study plans.