Every country should have a free health service, even if this means the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few years, there has been a debate over whether medical care should be provided at no cost to people. I have the notion that previous statement is the governments’ responsibilities even if it could be hard to provide expensive medicines. This will be shown by looking at the importance of having free medical care and how to overcome the pricy treatments.

First and foremost, it is the authorities’ duty to ensure that health care is available to everyone regardless of how much money they own. This is because one of the most important human rights is to receive medical treatment whenever it is needed. In other words, it is stated in the majority of constitutions that all people have the right to obtain suitable education as well as proper medical treatment. If, instead, health care was not free, the poor would become ill, which could result in infection of the rest of the people.

Furthermore, some claim that it could be hard to continuously provide expensive medicines for free. For instance, in Egypt, average cancer treatment costs 8000 EGP every month, and it takes several months for the patient to recover. On the other hand, all people would be cured from regular diseases. To solve the high cost of rare medicines, the rich may pay for its total prices, but the government should provide these medicines at lower cost for the poor. This will make the rich shoulder the finance burden with the government.

By way of conclusion, although medical treatment should be provided freely to all people since it is an essential right, the rich should pay for the highly-cost medicines in order to provide these treatments to poor people.