In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, fast food has become one of the most affected aspects of our society due to the health issues because of fatty foods. Every day the number is increasing and most of the consumers are young people, our next generation will be suffering from diseases. This essay will discuss whether the government should impose higher tax on junk food providers.

Firstly, the consumption of fast food has led society to the serious health problems. One of the most important issues is the obesity. Our hectic lifestyle and long working hours have made our excessive consumption of junk food because we do not have time or energy to prepare and cook our lunch or dinner, or even the breakfast. Additionally, Fast food restaurants are convenient, affordable and accessible all over the roads. Some of the fast food restaurants are serving customers 24/7 and are accessible with nominal prices. Many of them are actually aware of consequences of fast food but they subsist in eating it.

Secondly, most of the fast food consumers are young people. They deny believing that kind of food will damage their health. Therefore, imposing a higher tax on fast food restaurants will increase the price of that kind of food but that is not enough. The government should encourage healthy restaurant, for example, provide to government employee’s meal vouchers. In order to maintain the quality, the government should release food health categories and post it in front in the restaurant. The government is affected economically by those people who suffered from the heart disease, cholesterol and diabetes caused by junk food.

In conclusion, we should take action about unhealthy food and we have to start (with/from) ourselves and our families by encouraging our children and create awareness about the benefits of healthy food.