In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Eating fast food is increasingly more frequent in present-day Society and it is probably because of two reasons. With less and less time spent on meal preparation, people are always looking for faster options. Another reason must be the fact that this kind of food is cheaper than other healthy and fresh foods. Therefore, some governments intend to raise taxes on this kind of food. However, I disagree that this is a solution for this problem. I think that more information campaigns on how to lead a healthy lifestyle are essential.

The fast food can be tasty and cheaper but we can’t play with our health because we know that the old adage is still true: you get what you pay for. Due to this, I consider highly important remember that healthy, natural food is the best way to combat diseases, including obesity and overweight. I also welcome an initiative to distribute fruit and vegetables free in schools to stimulate in order for children at an early stage to be acquainted with good eating and nutritional habits.

On the other hand, if these awareness campaigns are not sufficient, I agree that can be necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on fast foods because sometimes, many people just learn when they are hit where it hurts: in their pockets.