Some people prefer dogs as pets, while others prefer cats or other animals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a dog for a pet?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Having domesticated animals at home can be very good because many people need to have a company, these people can play, love and spend much time with them. But, on the other hand, pets can be so stressful considering that they are irrational and may cause inconvenience and trouble.

Nowadays, many surveys show that have pets, especially dogs, is wonderful for the healthy. The advantages to having dogs at home are: first, they help people to reduce stress and anxiety. Second, they develop responsibility, fidelity, and care. Third, they contribute for owner’s relation with another people in view of the dogs can help you become more active and sociable, besides combating depression. In addition, the conviviality among babies and pets reduces the risk of developing allergies.

In contrast, in some situations having pets can be harmful. For example: the owner has to pay food, veterinary, accessories, medicaments, and other things. So, pets cost money. Another thing is that dogs can make a lot of mess, they may eat furniture, plants or your shoes. It is important to know also that in order to have pets it is necessary to have time to give attention and take care of them and another important point is that dogs live less than humans, and many people suffer when they lose their partners.

Briefly, a domesticated animal at home has both advantages and disadvantages. In my honest opinion, it is better when you have pets, especially when you have children. Due to the fact that dogs may have a big contribution to our health and relation with another people.