In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to increasing consumption of fast food, number of medical patient have gone up very rapidly in last few decades. To which, may people believe that high tax duties by government can prevent the issue before it slips from the hand. In my opinion, raising tax can play a role to certain degree but it is certainly not an ideal approach to mitigate the problem.

To begin with, increasing tax rate can assist in pushing a part of the people away from fast food, especially students and children. When tax duty goes up, the prices will increase so people may rely other sources of food, such as cooking by themselves, rather than unhealthy fast foods. For example, when governments have imposed a huge tax on cigarettes, gradually number of smokers are decreased. Thus, it can assist to discourage people from eating fast food to some extent.

However, it is surely not addressing the issue at root level, which is essential to fix the problem effectively. Imposing heavy tax would simply put burden on economically backward classes because rich people still can afford it. At the same time, it puts huge financial pressure on businesses, which is a source of employment for several thousand people. For instance, when authorities raised Tax on easy to prepare food, 20, 000 people lost their job as a part of cost cutting. Instead, other effective ways should be identify and encourage.

On the contrary, the most efficient solution can be a good food standards. When strict food regulation are applied and enough is invested in its governance, more impact can be seen. Furthermore, food awareness programs should be initiated to educate citizens about the food content so that they can identify best for themselves. This will be a win-win situation for both business and its consumers.

In Conclusion, although high tax on junk food can demoralize its intake, it surely not an ideal solution. Thus, other approaches are selected and promoted for a long term fruitful solution.