Some people think that the effective way to reduce pollution is to tax the companies which cause it. Others think that there are better ways to achieve this.

Discuss both the sides and give your own opinion.

Natural resources are highly polluted by continuous exploitation by corporation and individuals. To which, a few people believe that culprits, who are major contributor to pollution, should be imposed with tax while others asserts that it can be controlled by other more convenient ways. In my opinion, Tax duties to certain extent should go hand in hand with other sustainable way, such as non-conventional energy sources.

To begin with, enterprises, which discharge their industrial waste in to water and air, are the biggest responsible factor to elevate various kinds of pollution. For instance, Lakes in Bengaluru are so polluted by surrounding industries that water is totally covered by foam which continuously catches fire. Besides, it requires enormous amount of resources in order to process and purify this natural resources that can create burden government budget and eventually on common tax payers. Thus, levy of tax as a compensation on companies can be fruitful not only for averting pollution but to improve the quality of existing polluted resources.

However, there are other means which are considered to be more effective, such as discouraging usage of non-biodegradable material, especially plastic and polythene. Furthermore, masses can be motivated to rely more on public transport instead of personal vehicle as a mode of transportation for their regular commute. In this way, carbon emission, which is key factor for global warming, can be controlled. For example, 20% of carbon monoxide is contributed only by cars running on the street. As well as, instead of relying on conventional source, such as coal and fossil, more research should be carried out to commercialize other pollution-free sources, namely solar energy and wind energy. Hence, general awareness and non-conventional source can assist in reduction of pollution with great amount.

In conclusion, although Tax can restrict corporation from emitting pollutant in the environment, other ways are more sustainable and suitable. Thus, it needs equal effort from public, government and businesses to preserve the Mother Nature for our continuous existence on the planet.