Some people think that large international sporting events only brings drawbacks, and that it is not worth hosting them.

Do you agree or disagree?

Hosting global sport contests have several disadvantages, so it should be discontinued organizing them, according to some people. In my opinion, I understand that it has few downsides, such as financial pressure but its positive impact can easily surpass its negative side.

To begin with, it is understandable that why few people are against global sport meets because of its few downsides. Organizing a huge event where participants are from all over the world puts huge burden on nation's economy because it demands enormous fund. For example, the Olympic hosted by China in 2014 that costed them around $3 billion, a waste of taxpayer's hard-earned money. Moreover, Contest at this level often invites more corruption because officials try to fill their own pocket under the name of competition. A scam, for example, of around $40 million uncovered, in 2008, during the Commonwealth sport meet in India. Thus, many people discourage such competitions.

However, it offers a great value compared to its negative impact. Firstly, its role in creating numerous employment opportunities, which is significant for any growing country, and setting up such contests require a huge workforce. For instance, a single event can provided work to as many as 40000 people. Secondly, it is a great platform to integrate diverse culture which is participating from different countries and to encourage individuals towards sports as well as healthy lifestyle which can have great impact on life in the long run. Additionally, governments have to invest less in health care if their citizens are healthy. Thus, nations should not stop organizing such event in the light of few minor downsides.

In conclusion, although few corrupt individual exploits this opportunity for their personal gains; its positive impact can easily outweigh its negative side. Thus, authorities should invest more to make its organization corruption free and affordable.