Some argue that international sporting events are not worth organizing due to many major setbacks. I disagree with this statement because these large events bring huge benefits to countries and people around the world.

It is understandable why people are against such events considering the downsides. One reason is that these large-scaled sporting competitions are the chance for supporters to gather around at one place cheering their favorite team, which is the underlying cause of many serious crimes, especially terrorism. For example, in 2002, over 1000 football fans from Portugues were severely injured by a bomb attack in Bernabeu stadium in Spain during a match of European football league. Another reason is that a majority of people only consider sports a type of entertainment while it takes a substantial amount of national revenues to organize. Therefore, saying that these events are not worth hosting seems reasonable.

However, I believe that host countries would gain an enormous profit from these international events. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is the lucrative amount of money extracting from sports supporters. Along with the profit from selling seat tickets, host countries will also be benefited by the money from other activities such as accommodation and sight-seeing. With such a sizable number of visitors, the amount of money will be multiplied enormously to enrich national budgets as well as cover all event expenses such as security, infrastructure and transportation. In other words, this is a legit international business which is undoubtedly worth investing in.

In conclusion, I believe that money alone is the reason why governments should hold the international sporting events more frequently despite several detriments. After all, money is the key to boosting a nation’s economy.