The mother’s employment status does affect the families and children. These effects can be both – positive and negative which shall be discussed in this essay.

On the positive side, two family incomes are very important to make both ends meet. So women work and add to the financial status of the family. This additional income helps to provide better education and other facilities to the children. What is more, it has been seen that the children of working mothers do better academically, have better behaviour and adjust themselves better socially. Another advantage is that, most families accommodate to the mother's employment and in doing so provide a family environment that works well. In two-parent families, the fathers take on a larger share of the household tasks and child-care and this seems to have benefits for

the children.

Furthermore, employed mothers have a higher level of well-being than those who stay at home and this, in turn, affects their parenting in positive ways. Therefore, the mother's employment itself does not seem to have the negative effects on the children. The society also has changed and today we have affordable and quality day care centres, which are a blessing for working mothers. Finally, women have proved their mettle in many fields and the modern workplaces need their services more than anything else.

The disadvantages, on the other hand, are that children need the loving and affectionate care of mothers in the early years of their lives and if mothers go to work then they are deprived of this to some extent. Women also need some rest after childbirth as it is a physically and emotionally challenging time for them. Some people opine that juvenile delinquency is on the rise because mothers do not give time to their children because of going to work.

To sum up, it can be said that there are both advantages and disadvantages of women going to work when their children are young. However, the pros far outweigh the cons.