in some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary world, there are people who opt to stay independent rather than residing with their family. In my opinion, this trend has more detrimental effects. This essay discusses the negative impact of living alone as well as the contribution of a family in one’s life.

To begin with, people often tend to lead a single life due to their work commitments. There kind of people become prone to mental illnesses like anxiety and depression because they do not have anyone to share their emotions. For instance, nowadays youths migrate to different countries in search of job opportunities and most of the time they face ups and downs in their lives by themselves which makes them vulnerable to problem like depression.

On the other hand, albeit staying alone can make a person self-dependent and boost their confidence but it can also make them detached from their family. Moreover, separation disturbs the family life due to which people feel worried and take support of alcohol and other addictions to combat stress and loneliness. To illustrate, many people travel to different locations for work assignments. This has tremendous impact on their personal life as family members can not accompany them for such a long stint.

In conclusion, even though living a solo life has some benefits like becoming self-sufficient and less burdensome for family but it has more adverse effects which often lead to psychological problems as well as it disturbs family life of people. Hence, I strongly believe residing with family is the ultimate option to balance a healthy lifestyle.