In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home.

It has been observed that in many countries, a large section of the society consider renting a house more beneficial than owning them because it becomes easier for them to move and they can maintain their liquidity also. However, renting a property has certain demerits as well.

There are a plethora of merits of living on rent. Firstly, it gives people the convenience to move from one place to another without much hassle. In this dynamic world, human beings switch jobs frequently to move ahead in their career. For this, they have to shift their base from one city to another and even to other countries as well. Renting a home will allow them to make these decisions quickly. Secondly, this will allow people to live without any cash crunch as their savings will not be blocked in buying a house. For instance, one of my friends have invested all his money in the home and he does not have liquid cash for the exigencies.

Although there are benefits of living on rent, it has certain drawbacks also. One major issue is that every time a person moves his house, he needs to buy furniture as per the layout and the size of the new property. This results in wastage of a lot of money if the movement is too frequent. Another disadvantage of living in a rented property is that the amount of rent paid every month is wasted. It is an expenditure without any return. To illustrate, a person paying an EMI of loan is better than the one paying rent as he has an asset in his possession whereas the latter does not enjoy the ownership of the house.

Despite having many advantages, renting a home has few disadvantages also, such as, a person may end up spending more on furniture and fixtures and he will not get any monetary benefit in lieu of the rent paid to the owner.