In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Many people believe that small shops in city centers cannot compete with large stores that are based on the outskirts, which can lead to many of those small businesses being threatened with closure. Therefore, the number of people using cars to go to the suburbs is increasing, when those without cars are limited to access large out-of-town stores. While there are a number of benefits of this change, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks are greater for the following reasons which are elaborated hereunder.

On the one hand, consumer trends to buy things at big stores in suburban areas which put small shops at risk of closing can be highly beneficial for many reasons. One of the key advantages is to help balance population density. The population of the inner city is increasing, so the appearance of large shops in the suburbs will motivate people with the desire for more convenience to move to the suburban area. For example, families who do not want to spend too much money on gas, or moving, this could not be a bad choice. This will create a balance between the population density in the inner city and the suburbs, promoting the development of life throughout the city.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of buying things in big shopping malls outside the inner city, forcing the small shops in the inner city to close pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Firstly, it could put local people at great inconvenience. The key rationale is that those who do not have a car are limited in their shopping, those who have little free time are limited by the time it takes to travel from the inner city to the outer city. On the contrary, if the small shops in the city continue to operate, they will have more convenient choices. The second drawback that should be taken into consideration is traffic congestion and heightened pollution levels. The increase in the use of cars will make moving to the suburbs increase, which leads to congestion and especially environmental pollution that will spread from the inner city to the outskirts of the city. For example, the number of 200 cars leaving the inner city a day will not be able to pollute the amount of 1000 cars a day if this change continues. These problems can cause the environment to become increasingly complex and take a lot of time and effort to handle.

In conclusion, despite several benefits that the trend of shopping in the suburbs has caused many small shops in the inner city to face bankruptcy has, it seems to me that they are outweighed by the potential problems.