In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have

limited access to out-of town stores, and this may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In some countries, more and more people are shopping in large shops outside of town, which makes local ones have faced closure. Following that, other people have to buy cars so that they can continue their shopping activities, leading to an increasing number of car use. Although this issue has several benefits, I believe that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, shopping in large stores outside in the town can have many advantages. First, this helps businesses outside the city earn more profits and create more job opportunities for people, which positively impacts on national development. Second, the new shopping habit will partially change the infrastructure as the government have to invest more budget in widening roads to serve a large number of commuters between inside and outside a town. As a result, the tendency of migrating to cities would reduce, which prevents the population explosion in the metropolis.

On the other hand, I believe the disadvantages of the issue are more influential than advantages. The first problem is that when people flock to supermarkets in neighbouring cities, businesses in the inner area have to shut down due to revenue loss. As a consequence, mass unemployment happens, leading to an increasing level of poverty and crime. Another drawback is that the growth of travelling by car will cause air pollution with a large amount of carbon dioxide emitted into the atmosphere. This will lead to greenhouse effects and destroy the ozone layers, causing global warming and climate change.

In conclusion, although using cars to shop out-of-town stores have some benefits, I still believe that the negatives are outweighed by the upwards.