In some countries, there are many social problems involving teenagers. Some people say this is because parents spend much of their time at work and not at home. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that in some nation issues associated with adolescents are increased. There is an opinion that the reason behind it is lack of parental control due to the fact that adults spend more time building their career than staying at home. I somehow agree with this idea but there are some extra factors that contribute greatly to the situation.

In my opinion crimes committed by the youth and cruelty in schools is connected significantly to the appearance of the Internet, where any child can find videos and pictures with scenes of violence, sex and promotion of prostitution and narcotics. As well as these, many teenagers play video games like Doom based on an idea of killing people. Thus immature minds are constantly exposed to the violence and wild behavior scenes on daily basis and as a result, children begin to use it as role models and behave accordingly.

However, parental involvement also contributes to children’s behavior and learning. For instance, youngsters without controlling by the parents may be influenced by wrong company. Children may start drinking and smoking or neglect their studies. While, if somebody from elders stay at home, they will be able to control on them, take measures in the right time, and guide a child in the right direction.

In conclusion, I agree that participation of parents in child’s up-brining plays role in social issues related to teenagers, but there are more reasons behind it and absence of parents at home cannot be the main reason for this.